What Best Characterizes a Macrobiotic Diet?

What Best Characterizes a Macrobiotic Diet?

a diet entirely based on vegetables, cereal grains, and beans.

what is a macrobiotic diet?:

a macrobiotic diet comprises whole foods primarily plant-based, locally available, and seasonal. The basic tenet of the macrobiotic dietary philosophy is to encourage eating according to individual needs while maintaining an overall balance in nutrition.

In other words, be mindful of the foods you eat by paying attention to their taste, appearance, and texture as well as how they make you feel after eating them. In this way, we can maintain physical health and develop greater sensitivity in our lives.

Macrobiotics was formulated in the 1920s but since then has evolved into many different schools of thought and practice with some common threads: the focus on whole foods, eating locally and seasonally, eating according to your constitution, and making a connection between food and its effect on the mind/body/spirit.

How many subgroups comprise the vegetable food group:

The vegetable food group includes all foods made from the plant kingdom. This means that it contains fruits, vegetables, beans and peas, tubers (potatoes), legumes (peas and beans), and nuts and seeds. It is important to remember that although potatoes are a starchy vegetable, they are included in the fruit group of My Pyramid because of their nutrient contents.

How many subgroups comprise the grain food group:

The grain food group consists primarily of pieces of bread and cereals. Whole-grain products may be used instead of refined-grain products in each subgroup listed below for additional fiber, vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients. The grain food group should be prepared with little added fats or sugars.

How many subgroups comprise the fruit food group:

The fruit group includes fresh, canned, frozen fruits and fruit juices. They are excellent sources of Vitamin C, dietary fiber, potassium, and other essential nutrients; however, they are higher in calories than other parts of MyPyramid. Fruit may be eaten fresh or cooked (if desired). Some canned or frozen fruits are also good sources of vitamin A (as beta-carotene) and potassium.

As you move through the guide, look at the critical nutrient contributions from each food group to make sure your food choices fit with your health needs. This will help you balance out different foods for overall better nutrition.

How many subgroups comprise the milk food group:

The milk and yogurt group includes all fluid milk products and foods made from milk. Milk supplies essential nutrients such as calcium, vitamin D, protein, and other crucial nutrients for good health.

This food group also provides many of the calories in MyPyramid. Foods prepared with milk (such as cream soups) may be substituted for lower-fat versions. Various soy beverages can be used for milk in cooking or on cold cereal.

Food labels express the nutrient content about a set of standard values known as the:

MyPyramid Equivalents Database. Calcium, dietary fiber, iron, and potassium are nutrients of public health concern in American diets. MyPyramid provides the recommended intakes for these nutrients and total fat, saturated fat, and added sugars – significant components of most calorie-containing foods and beverages (including those sweetened with sugars and those made with high fructose corn syrup). The goal is to make it easier for you to balance your food choices over time within an appropriate calorie level for maintaining a healthy weight.

Nutrient-dense refers to foods that:

provide substantial nutrition with relatively few calories. Fruit and vegetables are good sources of several nutrients, yet they have fewer calories than many other foods that do not provide as much calcium or vitamin A.

Total fat includes saturated fatty acids and trans-fatty acids:

Saturated fatty acids are the leading dietary cause of elevated blood cholesterol levels. Trans fatty acids occur naturally in small amounts in some meat and dairy products. Still, most are formed during food processing from vegetable fats for use in margarine, shortening, and processed foods containing these ingredients.

Many processed snack foods contain large amounts of saturated fatty acid or trans fatty acids – both will raise blood cholesterol levels when eaten regularly. By limiting your intake of -processed meats- (bacon, bologna),-processed cheeses- (American cheese), and -fried fast foods- (French fries or chicken nuggets), you can lower your intake of saturated fatty acids.

Leave a Comment