Who is Who on House of the Dragon: Detangling Targaryan Family Tree

Since Game of Thrones was released, everyone has been interested in knowing everything about the House Targaryen. And why wouldn’t they? Look at those blonde dragon riders who have ruled the seven kingdoms for such a long time. No matter how much you know about the House Targaryen, there’s always so much more that needs to be known. Since Targaryens often marry within the family, it’s hard to track who is who. To help you out, ExpressVPN created a compelling infographic that explains the tangled Targaryen family relations in more depth. 

Game of Throne and House of the Dragon Spoilers Follows. 

Since the release of the House of the Dragon, fans finally got separate series focusing exclusively on the House Targaryen storyline. After seeing Daenerys Targaryen and her brother Rahegar Targaryen, fans have been fascinated with the House Targaryen. And in the finale season of Game of Thrones, when fans learned about the original identity of Jon Snow, they went crazy. 

And now, with the House of the Dragon Season 1 release, there are so many new House Targaryen family members. They have so many characteristics that make them different from any other house. Let’s get to know more about all the family members of the House Targaryen. 

House Targarney Family Tree

Targaryen family tree consists of many noblemen, including kings and queens. We will see more of those who have been seen and talked about most in both Game of Thrones and House of the Dragon series. 

King Aegon I Targaryen

He was also known by his other names, The Conqueror and Aegon the Dragon. His name had Lord of the Seven Kingdoms with it as he was the very first king who united all seven kingdoms and ruled for many years. 

Queen Visenya Targaryen

She was the sister-wife of King Aegon I Targaryen. 

Prince Maegor Targaryen

He was also known by the name Maegor the Cruel. He happens to be the younger son of Aegon I from his elder sister-wife Visenya. Maegor was married to Ceryse Hightower, Alys Harroway, Tyanna of the Tower along with Elinor Costayne, Rhaena Targaryen, Jeyne Westerling, and the Black Brides. 

Queen Rhaenys Targaryen

She was also the sister-wife to Aegon I. Her children include Aenys Targaryen, who is the second Lord of the Seven Kingdoms. 

Aenys Targaryen

He was the Second Lord of the Seven Kingdoms and married Alyssa Velaryon. Their children include Princess Rhaena Targaryen, Prince Aegon Targaryen,  Prince Viserys Targaryen, Prince Jaehaaerys Targaryen, Princess Alysanne Targaryen, and Princess Vaella Targaryen. 

After this timeline came the Era of the Old King, i.e., King Jaehaerys I Targaryen. 

King Jaehaerys I Targaryen

He was also known as the Jarhaerys the Conciliator, The Old King, and Jahaerys the Wise. King Jaehaerys I was the fourth Lord of the Seven Kingdoms. He was married to his sister-wife, Queen Alysanne Targaryen. She was also known by the name Good Queen Alysanne. 

Their children include Prince Aegon Targaryen, Princess Daenerys Targaryen (who died at the early age of 6), Prince Aemond Targaryen, Prince Baelon Targaryen, Princess Alyssa Targaryen, Princess Maegelle Targaryen, Prince Vaegon Targaryen, Princess Daella Targaryen, Princess Saera Targaryen, Princess Viserra Targaryen, Prince Gaemon Targaryen, Prince Valerion Targaryen, and Princess Gael Targaryen. 

Then Came the Era of King Viserys I Targaryen.

King Viserys I Targaryen

He was married to Lady Aemma Arryn and had a son who died in infancy; Prince Baelon Targaryen, who died after a day and was later known as The Heir for a day. And then there’s Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen, also known as the Realm’s Delight. She was declared the heir to the throne by King Viserys I Targaryen. 

After Lady Aemma died during childbirth, King Viserys married Lady Alicent Hightower. With her, he had Prince Aegon Targaryen, Princess Haelena Targaryen, Prince Aemond Targaryen, and Prince Daeron Targaryen. 

Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen

She was married to Ser Laenor Velaryon, who was gay; hence her three sons were fathered by Ser Harwin Strong. These sons are Prince Jacaerys Velaryon, Prince Lucerys Velaryon, and Prince Joffrey Velaryon. 

Later on, she was married to her Uncle, Prince Daemon Targaryen. With him, she has three children, viz. Prince Aegon Targaryen, Prince Viserys Targaryen, and Princess Visenya Targaryen.

The story of the House of the Dragon is up to this storyline. We will get to see so much more with two episodes remaining of the first season and upcoming seasons. Other than that, several House Targaryen family members from the Game of Thrones universe haven’t been added here. It is because Game of Thrones was 172 years after the time of the House of the Dragon.

Leave a Comment